Yelling, The Gambler, and A Very Disappointed Lammy

24 Sep

An excerpt from the email O’s teacher sent yesterday:

“Olive had a challenging day at school today… she was yelling in class, singing in class and disrupting others and had difficulty following directions…” 




…And some highlights from the conversation over breakfast this morning:

MOMMY:     You were yelling in class? Who does that?! Why did you yell? What did you yell?
OLIVE:         Ok, just settle down Mommy. That’s too many questions. I didn’t yell any real words– I just… yelled. 
MOMMY:     Wait, did you just tell me to settle down? Don’t tell me to settle down… And why did you yell? 
Olive:          I don’t know. Sometimes a kid just wants to yell. 
MOMMY:     Riiiiight… well, maybe sometimes a Mommy just wants to yell. Like, say– when she gets an email from her daughter’s teacher telling her that her kid spent the day yelling and singing, and keeping all the other kids from learning. I think that would definitely make a Mommy want to yell. 

OLIVE:        Well, I don’t think you should yell right now, Mommy. I think you should use your self-control.

MOMMY:     Hey, what do you know! Remember the other day when I was trying to explain what “irony” is? Well here’s some for you–  you want me to use my self control so that I don’t yell at you for yelling in class because you didn’t use your self control. 
OLIVE:        (laughing)     I like irony. It’s funny. 
MOMMY:     Yes, yes it is– but back to this email… So, singing?! You were singing in class?
OLIVE:          Actually, I wasn’t singing in class. I was singing in the bathroom.
MOMMY:     The bathroom that is in your classroom, you mean?  So you may as well have been singing in class because everyone could still hear you? Awesome. What the heck were you thinking? Why would you start singing in the bathroom while Mrs. W– was trying to teach? 
OLIVE:          I already told you a bunch of days ago that I like the echo in that bathroom.
MOMMY:     You like the echo? Sigh… What song were you singing?
OLIVE:          I was singing “The Gambler”
MOMMY:     [shakes head ]
TAMMY THE LAMMY, entering the room:    Oh Olive, I heard that you were Baa-aad at school yesterday. I am so disappointed. Have I taught you nothing?!




And just in case you want to hear what Olive decided to sing in the middle of class:

THE GAMBLER by Kenny Rogers

2 Responses to “Yelling, The Gambler, and A Very Disappointed Lammy”

  1. Uncle Ty, Aunt Leigh and Baby Clover September 24, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

    Olive,
    Your Uncle Ty has trouble acting out, yelling and singing when he is not supposed to also. I don’t know if it really helped in his case but I shared a piece of advise that my middle school art teacher had to preach to our class on one too many occasions “Self control distinguishes man from beast”. Think that one over with mommy.

    Love,
    Aunt Leigh

    • the kid September 25, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

      That must be because Uncle Ty knows that its fun to yell and sing. Maybe we can yell and sing together, sometime when we’re not supposed to, next time i come to visit. That is some good advice about self control. Although, to be honest, i kind of like the idea of being a beast. I do love animals. Mommy just gave me a dirty look.

Leave a Reply

iGameMom

Games for Learning

Mya says too.....

All Things Mya

Briere's Journey

Administration

LemCh the Blogger

Administration

Mister G Kids

A daily comic about real stuff little kids say in school. By Matt Gajdoš

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

My Useless Degree

Stay tuned, this site is very much a work in progress at the moment... as is my life.

