a quick note from “Mommy”

10 Sep

I drove O to school today and had a chance to talk to her teacher. Turns out the little scamp really did do well yesterday. Way to go O- that’s my girl!

Her teacher said she was “so much better” (which I interpreted as, “she was soooo much better, and it was such a relief because she was soooo bad last week”). She said that every time O raised her hand or did what she was told, she got this certain look on her face where you could tell that she was both really pleased with herself – and kind of surprised at the same time. Like, “Look at me Mrs. W– I’m really doing what I’m doing what I’m supposed to… wow, hey wouldya take’a look a that– I’m actually raising my hand.”

Anyways, it was a great thing to hear. Plus it’s nice to have O’s claims of good behavior backed up with some solid proof. Good job, kiddo. I’m very proud of you! All we ask is that you do that every single day for the next 12 years. No sweat.

That’s all for now. We’re going to try and get some of Olive’s many (many) drawings posted later this evening, if there’s time. I’m doing a little babysitting for the Hoppin Crew tonight, but O is dying to show you all her latest masterpieces. She’s in an extremely prolific phase with drawing right now. She’s literally covered almost every surface she could get her hands on (including a very large and very expensive piece of illustration board I’ve been saving for a new painting)– she kind of reminds me of Russell Crowe in A Beautiful Mind, when he had every wall in his room covered in thousands of tiny equations on little scraps of paper.

I’ll leave you with one of her creations from last night, which I discovered on a paper towel earlier today…

I think someone was day-dreaming about that prize she's trying to earn

I think someone was day-dreaming about that prize she’s trying to earn

2 Responses to “a quick note from “Mommy””

  1. Poppa Joe September 11, 2013 at 12:25 am #

    That is awesome, great job Olive the Kidd! I am so proud of you! Maybe I’ ll drop the other “D” off the Kidd….. Well maybe not, I really like it. Keep up the good work!

    • the kid September 11, 2013 at 2:30 am #

      Thanks Poppa Joe. Oh and you shouldn’t drop the extra “D,” maybe I should add one!

Leave a Reply

iGameMom

Games for Learning

Mya says too.....

All Things Mya

Briere's Journey

Administration

LemCh the Blogger

Administration

Mister G Kids

A daily comic about real stuff little kids say in school. By Matt Gajdoš

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

My Useless Degree

Stay tuned, this site is very much a work in progress at the moment... as is my life.

